Finding the pony

What is the necessary ingredient to make a global society potent?

It doesn’t matter to me today for I am in search of more personal inspiration, a bit of perspiration if necessary, to get out of the general post middle-aged malaise that has clouded my thoughts with images of “I’m going to be dead soon anyway so why bother?”

I cleared out readers, telling them I wasn’t interested in their likes because I wanted an online space to think and get to from anywhere with minimal need for remembering security-related keys to unlock the virtual door through which I walk into this writer’s den.

I dropped Facebook, losing touch with friends both real and imaginary.

I still visit a few websites I trust to give me information to work with, hopefully genuine/authentic/real enough for contemplating.

I struggle against the sluggishness of technology, such as this Toshiba Satellite c55-A notebook computer with Intel Core i3 CPU and the constantly-updating Windows 10 OS and free antivirus software — who knows what all else is going on behind the GUI scenes that makes me wait up to 30 minutes after booting up the computer before I can simply type these sentences in a commercial blog?

I am back on my lifelong quest, a different person, mind you, thus making the quest as much about the journey as ever rather than simply a destination.

In the meantime, professional politicians struggle to contain a general uprising of nonpolitical types wanting to control local/state/[inter]national social units we call governments, rocking the boat and generating gale force winds with their own hot air.  It’s all background entertainment information from my limited means-based viewpoint, giving me historical reference points to use.

I’ll end this announcement of the new me with a few presidential quotes:

Ronald Reagan
The best minds are not in government. If any were, business would hire them away.

William Henry Harrison
There is nothing more corrupting, nothing more destructive of the noblest and finest feelings of our nature, than the exercise of unlimited power.

Leave a Reply

