The Magician’s Trade

We climbed a ladder to the observation deck, the third story of the treehouse.

She looked up at me, her face a shiny glow from the tropical heat wave.  “I want you to hold me.”

I lifted my right arm from my side and wrapped it over her back.

She pressed her cheeks against my chest and hugged me tightly.

She was so warm, so comfortable, like we were meant to be together.

She leaned her head back and I fell in love with her all over again.

We wanted to kiss but we had plans to make.

Sometimes kissing has to wait.

No, seriously.

I mean it.

Not now.

Okay, so we kissed once.

Those eyes of hers had a way of commanding me to her will.

“Let’s talk about…”

She shook her head.

We kissed again.

Although our local star was no longer visible in the sky, the forest remained still and muggy, at least 100 deg F.

I wanted to discuss upcoming events, including a fundraiser.

Not that she didn’t want to work out details of the events but…

Well, the observation deck, little more than a crow’s nest, it invites people to relax and forget about the worries of the day.

We stopped kissing for a moment and she buried her face in my side as we hugged like we’d never see each other again.

We always hugged that way because she never knew when I’d disappear for weeks at a time again.

We strengthened our love by sharing our love — the longer we were apart, the more we loved one another.

We watched four deer as they foraged below us.

A dog barked and the deer ran back up into the woods.

She yelled down at her husband who had been napping in a hammock.  “We’re going to be up here a little while longer.”

He yelled back.  “Any progress on the fundraiser?”

“Not yet!”

“Okay, you guys be careful.  Don’t do anything I wouldn’t do!  Love you!”

“Love you, too, babe!”  She bent her head to one side and leaned her left cheek against my arm.

I pressed my left palm on her forehead.  “You’re so warm.”

She raised her shoulders and cooed, looking up at me, flashing her eyes.  “Only because of you.”

We continued to hug each other while the trees danced in an early evening breeze.

We swayed as I hummed a blues song…sometimes the best plans are no plans at all.

Some moments only kissing and dancing will do.

 

Leave a Reply

